Review of Brother Business Smart MFC-J4620DW Inkjet All-in-One Printer with up to 11×17-Inch Printing and NFC Capability

  • Top Rated Printers review-of-brother-business-smart-mfc-j4620dw-inkjet-all-in-one-printer-with-up-to-11x17-inch-printing-and-nfc-capability Review of Brother Business Smart MFC-J4620DW Inkjet All-in-One Printer with up to 11x17-Inch Printing and NFC Capability
    7 Best Wide Format Printers 2018 | All-in-One Printer with Wireless & Mobile Printing
  • Top Rated Printers review-of-brother-business-smart-mfc-j4620dw-inkjet-all-in-one-printer-with-up-to-11x17-inch-printing-and-nfc-capability--2 Review of Brother Business Smart MFC-J4620DW Inkjet All-in-One Printer with up to 11x17-Inch Printing and NFC Capability
    Best Ink Printers To Purchase – Ink Printers Reviews
  • Top Rated Printers review-of-brother-business-smart-mfc-j4620dw-inkjet-all-in-one-printer-with-up-to-11x17-inch-printing-and-nfc-capability--3 Review of Brother Business Smart MFC-J4620DW Inkjet All-in-One Printer with up to 11x17-Inch Printing and NFC Capability
    Brother AIO A3 Inkjet Printer MFCJ4620DW
«
»
Rating: 
Amazon Price: $179.99 (as of November 18, 2018 10:14 pm – Details). Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on the Amazon site at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.

The Brother Business Smart Series MFC-J4620DW

Inkjet all in one with duplex printing, quick print speeds, up to 20 sheet automobile file feeder and as much as 11″x17″ output by means of bypass. Super high yield ink. Approximately 22 ppm black/ 20 ppm color. 3.7″ color Touchscreen display screen. Print from suitable mobile phones over cordless network or from NFC capable gadgets.

 

Top Rated Printers review-of-brother-business-smart-mfc-j4620dw-inkjet-all-in-one-printer-with-up-to-11x17-inch-printing-and-nfc-capability--7 Review of Brother Business Smart MFC-J4620DW Inkjet All-in-One Printer with up to 11x17-Inch Printing and NFC Capability  Top Rated Printers review-of-brother-business-smart-mfc-j4620dw-inkjet-all-in-one-printer-with-up-to-11x17-inch-printing-and-nfc-capability--8 Review of Brother Business Smart MFC-J4620DW Inkjet All-in-One Printer with up to 11x17-Inch Printing and NFC Capability  Top Rated Printers review-of-brother-business-smart-mfc-j4620dw-inkjet-all-in-one-printer-with-up-to-11x17-inch-printing-and-nfc-capability--9 Review of Brother Business Smart MFC-J4620DW Inkjet All-in-One Printer with up to 11x17-Inch Printing and NFC Capability  Top Rated Printers review-of-brother-business-smart-mfc-j4620dw-inkjet-all-in-one-printer-with-up-to-11x17-inch-printing-and-nfc-capability--10 Review of Brother Business Smart MFC-J4620DW Inkjet All-in-One Printer with up to 11x17-Inch Printing and NFC Capability
Brother Printer MFCJ4410DW
Brother Printer MFCJ4510DW
Brother MFCJ4620DW
Brother Printer MFC-J6520DW
Max Print Speed (ISO/IEC 24734)(2) 18/16ppm 20/18ppm 22/20ppm 22/20ppm
11×17” Capability Yes, via manual bypass tray Yes, via manual bypass tray Yes, via manual bypass tray Print/Copy/Scan/Fax, Printing via tray and manual bypass tray
Duplex Printing(9) Up to 8.5”x11” Up to 8.5”x11” Up to 8.5”x11” Up to 11”x17”
Networking Wireless (802.11b/g/n), Wi-Fi Direct & Wired Ethernet Wireless (802.11b/g/n), Wi-Fi Direct & Wired Ethernet Wireless (802.11b/g/n), Wi-Fi Direct & Wired Ethernet Wireless (802.11b/g/n), Wi-Fi Direct & Wired Ethernet
Mobile Device Compatibility(5),(6) AirPrint, Google Cloud Print, Brother iPrint&Scan, Cortado Workplace and Wi-Fi Direct AirPrint, Google Cloud Print, Brother iPrint&Scan, Cortado Workplace and Wi-Fi Direct AirPrint, Google Cloud Print, Brother iPrint&Scan, Cortado Workplace, Wi-Fi Direct, and NFC AirPrint, Google Cloud Print, Brother iPrint&Scan, Cortado Workplace and Wi-Fi Direct
LCD 2.7” TouchScreen Display plus TouchPanel 2.7” TouchScreen Display plus TouchPanel 3.7″ Swipe TouchScreen Display 2.7″ TouchScreen Display plus TouchPanel
Paper Capacity Up to 150 sheets Up to 150 sheets Up to 150 sheets Up to 250 sheets

Customer Review

Very good printer. I actually find this printer to be quite quick at receiving the wireless signal and printing. My previous HP Officejet was very slow often disappeared from the network and had to be turned off and on a lot.

I also was able to set this Brother up on the network quickly (under 30 minutes) and rather simply. Just follow the directions in the quick start. Yes, there are a LOT of extra manuals to download or use for more set up (Airprint, Google cloud etc…).

We have Apple, Android and Windows 10 devices all hooked up quickly and easily to it as a network printer. Print quality is noticeably mediocre but we only use it for school work, general household printing etc….We do not print photos with it so it is fine for our needs.

It takes up less space on my available desktop real estate. Excellent at duplexing. We do not use it as a fax so I cannot comment on any functionality there. The only feature I do not like is that the paper supply tray has to be pulled out to reload.

This is inconvenient for me as I often put a misfed or misprint sheet (that can be used again on the other side), back in to save paper. The HP had a front load paper tray that you could just slide sheets into at any time. The build quality seems quite solid.

Pros:

– Easy set up
– Reliable and quick signal with no dropped or hung up jobs
– Small footprint
– Great duplexing function

Cons:

– Mediocre print quality (fine for general printing needs)
– Paper load tray has to be pulled out to reload.

Customer Reviews

Not sure why there are so many negative reviews

 on October 18, 2015
By Jason
From my calculations this is probably one of the least expensive printers to print with. I had been looking at printers for a couple of weeks to replace my old Canon MP640, great little printer but it died with a high voltage to print head detected error. Also the ink for that printer was kind of expensive. It was about 50 dollars for the combo pack of color and they only lasted about 300 pages even less for photos. The brother ink is a lot cheaper. The extra large 1200 page color combo pack is only 43 dollars. I was looking at the new Epson ecotank printers but they are charging way too much for the printer especially seeing they fairly cheaply made and have non of the features of much less expensive printers.

New Brother user

 on July 24, 2016
By Kindle Customer 1
This printer replaced a 10yr old Canon. I needed a new unit because Canon stopped updating the scanner software for my unit.

I’d buy it again.

 on October 17, 2014
By Ben McLachlan
Requires the “fine” print setting for a good print. But I’ll take that over alternatives because it uses little ink which is reasonably priced. I like the wireless much and the ability to print large (11×17) pages.

Officially done with HP products.

 on February 1, 2018
By Lisa
Beautiful printer. Larger than I thought it would be but still a small profile for the technology it has. Here’s what I don’t like: the paper loads sideways and is super awkward because the paper tray can’t be taken off. So, if you have little sausages for fingers like I do, good luck. The paper guides are, in my opinion, flimsy. It’s also loud…really loud. Other than that, the print quality is outstanding. I literally printed a document from my phone simply by placing the phone near the NFC icon on the printer. It was super easy to set up, and that’s coming from someone who is allergic to technology. The design is intriguing. All ports for USB and fax line are inside the printer, with wire guides that lead out of the printer. So, no messy cords in the back of the printer. And, I love how the ink loads….so easy. Their support site is fantastic and a one stop shop for all things brother. I have Windows 10 and it works fine. It’s fully wireless for my desktop, tablet, and phone. Finally, the Brother print app for Android while boring, is super useful and functional.

Not Windows 10 friendly.

 on May 10, 2016
By David H.
I bought this because my old HP had seen it’s better day. I liked the idea of individual inks. I installed it wirelessly on Windows 7 with no issues. I printed, scanned and looked good….UNTIL, I switched to Windows 10. Now the scan button on the printer won’t work. It still communicates with my PC but just to give an error message. After 3 phone calls and 2 online chat supports, they are all blaming it on my PC. The 3 phone did admit they are having problems with Windows 10 and the last chat said the Windows 10 drivers aren’t out yet for this model. Windows 10 has been out long enough that they should have this fixed. SO, you have to use the Windows drivers for scanning which makes the Brother Utility Software useless for scanning, which means you can’t scan a group of pictures at once and have them divided into individual files. IF they ever get this fixed it will be a nice printer/scanner but seeing that Windows 10 has been out, what, close to a year, I doubt Brother will fix this….Look elsewhere. UPDATE 1/1/2017…….I had to reinstall the software and now it is working fine…….

Today is the first day for me but I am super Impressed! I am slightly above average with understanding …

 on March 20, 2016
By Penn
I am not sure how some people have had so many problems with this machine. Today is the first day for me but I am super Impressed! I am slightly above average with understanding tech stuff, but I still have trouble with junk technology. This is the first feature loaded printer that I have purchased that has been a straight forward and easy set up. When I set it up, I took my time, and read the instructions that came with it. I tried to set everything up perfectly in order that brother has instructed. As per the instructions I went to Brothers website to the download the drivers for my laptop and some freeware that they give you with the printer. The printer started working right away! Perfect! I was initially concerned that the air print/wireless print was going to be a problem but it is not. Some reviews said that after it goes to sleep it wont connect to the network. For me this was not the case at all, I gave it about an hour of being in stand by and and gave it a try. It fired right up when printing from my computer and with my smart phone. Speaking of smart phone… The print from smart phone option is awesome. I cant believe it took so long for companies to get this feature out there. Its so useful,and same thing with the cloud print. It worked seamlessly with google drive. I haven’t yet figured out how to use the NFC function but if your connected to WiFi and you downloaded brothers app to your phone its works perfect, and there is virtually no set up here. The devices I am using are the Samsung Galaxy note 5, and the 2016 Dell XPS 15 , I have a net gear cable modem/router all in one combo. Everything seems to be working great. I used to have a Lexmark printer that was wifi and all in one. It was the worst piece of garbage I ever had. I will never by Lexmark again. I did a lot of looking around to find the right printer for me. I always have to have the best stuff, and I am pleased with this unit. I will update this review if it turns into a piece of junk after a while. Hope this information is helpful. Some of the other reviews had me worried about buying this printer, but so far its a great success!. Btw the printer showed up double boxed from Amazon.com. The box containing the printer was in perfect condition.

Wonderful general purpose printer.

 on November 13, 2015
By happy feet
Very good printer. I actually find this printer to be quite quick at receiving the wireless signal and printing. My previous HP Officejet was very slow often disappeared from the network and had to be turned off and on a lot. I also was able to set this Brother up on the network quickly (under 30 minutes) and rather simply. Just follow the directions in the quick start. Yes, there are a LOT of extra manuals to download or use for more set up (Airprint, Google cloud etc…). We have Apple, Android and Windows 10 devices all hooked up quickly and easily to it as a network printer. Print quality is noticeably mediocre but we only use it for school work, general household printing etc….We do not print photos with it so it is fine for our needs. It takes up less space on my available desktop real estate. Excellent at duplexing. We do not use it as a fax so I cannot comment on any functionality there. The only feature I do not like is that the paper supply tray has to be pulled out to reload. This is inconvenient for me as I often put a misfed or misprint sheet (that can be used again on the other side), back in to save paper. The HP had a front load paper tray that you could just slide sheets into at any time. The build quality seems quite solid.

This is a solid home office type printer

 on April 9, 2018
By KernelHappy
I purchased this to replace a bulky Epson 7620 that had terrible print quality when it was new, and then finally developed a condition where the nozzles simply wouldn’t stay clean more than half a page.

Review Of Brother Business Smart MFC-J4620DW Inkjet All-in-One Printer With Up To 11x17-Inch Printing And NFC Capability

Review Of Brother Business Smart MFC-J4620DW Inkjet All-in-One Printer With Up To 11x17-Inch Printing And NFC Capability

Review Of Brother Business Smart MFC-J4620DW Inkjet All-in-One Printer With Up To 11x17-Inch Printing And NFC Capability