Review of Brother MFC-J480DW – Wireless Inkjet Color All-in-One Printer w Auto Document Feeder, Amazon Dash Replenishment Enabled

  • Top Rated Printers review-of-brother-mfc-j480dw-wireless-printer Review of Brother MFC-J480DW - Wireless Inkjet Color All-in-One Printer w Auto Document Feeder, Amazon Dash Replenishment Enabled
    Buy Brother MFC-J480DW – Wireless Inkjet Color All-in-One Printer w Auto Document Feeder, Amazon
  • Top Rated Printers review-of-brother-mfc-j480dw-wireless-printer--2 Review of Brother MFC-J480DW - Wireless Inkjet Color All-in-One Printer w Auto Document Feeder, Amazon Dash Replenishment Enabled
    Brother All-in-One Printers: Brother MFC-J480DW – Wireless Inkjet Color All-in-One Printer w Auto
  • Top Rated Printers review-of-brother-mfc-j480dw-wireless-printer--3 Review of Brother MFC-J480DW - Wireless Inkjet Color All-in-One Printer w Auto Document Feeder, Amazon Dash Replenishment Enabled
    Brother MFC J480DW Wireless Inkjet Color All in One Printer w Auto Document Feeder, Ama
  • Top Rated Printers review-of-brother-mfc-j480dw-wireless-printer--4 Review of Brother MFC-J480DW - Wireless Inkjet Color All-in-One Printer w Auto Document Feeder, Amazon Dash Replenishment Enabled
    Brother MFC-J480DW – Wireless Inkjet Color All-in-One Printer
  • Top Rated Printers review-of-brother-mfc-j480dw-wireless-printer--5 Review of Brother MFC-J480DW - Wireless Inkjet Color All-in-One Printer w Auto Document Feeder, Amazon Dash Replenishment Enabled
    Brother MFCJ480DW Wireless Inkjet Color AllinOne Printer w Auto Document Feeder Amazon Dash
  • Top Rated Printers review-of-brother-mfc-j480dw-wireless-printer--6 Review of Brother MFC-J480DW - Wireless Inkjet Color All-in-One Printer w Auto Document Feeder, Amazon Dash Replenishment Enabled
    7 Best Brother Printers 2018 | Top Laser Printer Under $200
  • Top Rated Printers review-of-brother-mfc-j480dw-wireless-printer--7 Review of Brother MFC-J480DW - Wireless Inkjet Color All-in-One Printer w Auto Document Feeder, Amazon Dash Replenishment Enabled
    Brother Printer MFCJ460DW Wireless Color Inkjet Printer
  • Top Rated Printers review-of-brother-mfc-j480dw-wireless-printer--8 Review of Brother MFC-J480DW - Wireless Inkjet Color All-in-One Printer w Auto Document Feeder, Amazon Dash Replenishment Enabled
    Brother Printer MFCJ460DW Wireless Color Inkjet Printer with Scanner, Copier & Fax, Ama…
  • Top Rated Printers review-of-brother-mfc-j480dw-wireless-printer--9 Review of Brother MFC-J480DW - Wireless Inkjet Color All-in-One Printer w Auto Document Feeder, Amazon Dash Replenishment Enabled
    Brother Printer MFC J680DW Wireless Color Photo Printer with Scanner Copier
«
»
Rating: 
Amazon Price: $63.00 $63.00 (as of August 16, 2018 5:53 pm – Details). Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on the Amazon site at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.

Bro MFC-J480DW – Wireless Inkjet Color All-in-One Printer w Auto Document Feeder, Amazon Dash Replenishment Enabled

The Brother MFC-J480DW printer is absolutely fabulous and produces the best documents and photos I’ve seen in this price range. In fact, this Brother printer wanders well outside of its price range on the high end. This is the best printer I’ve ever had, and incredibly inexpensive, too. I know ink is expensive, and now all bets are off and whatever the going rate for ink is on this printer I will pay it. $12 for a black cartridge and $20-some for all three colors. The printer is very easy to set up, is very quiet and prints very crisp photos even on regular paper. The printer does not waste ink while idling, like some HP printers do, nor does it constantly make that very annoying clickety-click noise, needlessly burning up ink while idle. It powers up and powers down very quickly. The front panel is the best I have ever seen and the 2″ LCD screen and easy to see and use buttons are the best I’ve ever used. All functions can be used without a computer, and the wireless capabilities are built-in and prints from your iPhone or Android device with easy pairing, as this printer also creates it’s own hotspot with variable SSID’s.

 

  • Print, copy, scan, and fax with color inkjet technology
  • Automatic document feeder system and duplex (two-sided) printing
  • 100-sheet paper capacity up to 8.5″x14″
  • Print directly from your mobile device using AirPrint, Easy-to-setup wireless networking with other devices
  • Easily navigate onscreen menus with the 1.8″ color display

 

The pros:

does everything a printer, scanner, and copier needs to do. Haven’t needed to use the fax feature, but I’m sure there are no problems there either. No jamming or tech errors. I mostly print Word docs, but the few times I’ve printed pictures, they turn out nice enough to put on the fridge (get a fancy photo printer if you want art gallery quality). User-friendly to get connected to WiFi–no cords needed to print, scan, etc. There’s even an app to print from your phone; I haven’t downloaded it, but that’s a cool feature. Ink isn’t terribly expensive on Amazon.

The cons:

it’s pretty bulky, but I consider that worth the trade-off for more capabilities (scanning/copying). Two-sided printing is pretty slow. Single-side printing comes out face up, so page 1 is on the bottom, 2 on top of that, 3 on top of that. $20 says that’s a user error I haven’t figured out yet, but it can be a headache if you’re printing out 20-page documents to go back and sort them.

Customer Reviews

Changed the driver settings and prints much faster

 on September 17, 2016
By Jane Shin
–TO ANYONE WITH SLOW PRINTING SPEED–

The Best Inkjet Printer Yet for under $100

 on May 19, 2016
By Matthew McGinley (real name™)
The Brother MFC-J480DW printer is absolutely fabulous and produces the best documents and photos I’ve seen in this price range. In fact, this Brother printer wanders well outside of its price range on the high end. This is the best printer I’ve ever had, and incredibly inexpensive, too. I know ink is expensive, and now all bets are off and whatever the going rate for ink is on this printer I will pay it. $12 for a black cartridge and $20-some for all three colors. The printer is very easy to set up, is very quiet and prints very crisp photos even on regular paper. The printer does not waste ink while idling, like some HP printers do, nor does it constantly make that very annoying clickety-click noise, needlessly burning up ink while idle. It powers up and powers down very quickly. The front panel is the best I have ever seen and the 2″ LCD screen and easy to see and use buttons are the best I’ve ever used. All functions can be used without a computer, and the wireless capabilities are built-in and prints from your iPhone or Android device with easy pairing, as this printer also creates it’s own hotspot with variable SSID’s.

Wastes ink automatically

 on April 3, 2017
By James B
If you don’t print very often, you will still have to keep buying ink cartridges in all colors. Brother pushed out a firmware update directly through WiFi, and since then I’ve noticed that the printer will bring itself out of sleep mode occasionally to run a “cleaning”, which wastes a bunch of ink unnecessarily. Eventually, the ink cartridges go empty, even the ones I almost never used (I usually print with black ink only).

Inexpensive, works well

 on February 9, 2016
By Rachel
We were nervous about buying something with only one other review on Amazon, but because this was on sale at our local Staples and there were so many good reviews for the Brother MFC-J4870DW we decided to take a chance. We love it. Set up was easy. We use it to print, fax, copy, and scan wirelessly to my MacBook and my husband’s PC.

Too much hassle to make this work as expected.

 on September 6, 2016
By Jon Cody
This has got to be the slowest printer I have ever owned. I am currently talking with support, just in case it happens to be just my printer malfunctioning, but currently, the printer advertises print speeds at 6-12 ppm depending on color or bw. Well, so far I printed a simple two page text resume (took 4 mins to print after about 30 seconds to send the job to the printer. I also printed out a basic half page coupon in greyscale, it did have a big black graphic but still that half page took 3 minutes alone.

Don’t buy this machine

 on April 5, 2017
By quiltmaker
Took it out of the box, followed Quick Setup intructions. Did #1, sklipped #2 because I don’t need fax. Did #3, which is Plug it in and did that and went to #4 Install INK. Did that and those instructions say FOLLOW THE ON SCREEN INSTRUCTIONS. Went to the on-screen and there was a message UNABLE TO INIT 75, Remove Paper Tray and press>. Did that, Pull two green levers in machine, Did that. Squeeze both levers open on back door, DID THAT. Remove jammed paper , close back cover. HOW COULD IT HAVE JAMMED PAPER WHEN THE THING HASN’T EVEN BEEN USED??? but Did that. Install paper tray and press STOP. Did that. Please wait. Did That. Same message came up AGAIN. MANY TIMES. Went online to Brother for trouble shooting hints. I did all that it said to do. Unplug blah, blah. Then it talked about codes and if your code wasn’t listed go to #13 DID that. #13 said Your product needs maintenance. Well, I bought a protection plan and went to try to fulfill that because the printer didn’t work and SARC Enterprises who sold me the thing won’t accept returns. So that is where I’m at now. If this protection thing doesn’t work then I’m out eh dollars, no recourse.UPDATE: Machine is broken, pieces fell out and they won’t take it back, won’t refund my money.

but only after a good half hour of messing around

 on November 23, 2016
By KennyKavanaugh
Printers have always provided an inordinate amount of frustration. This one is beyond anything I’ve ever experienced.

Not my MFC-J615w

 on February 15, 2018
By jabphn
I would really like my old brother back! I had that for 8 years. This is definitely slower, it eats ink like there is no tomorrow. I made 60 copies of a 4 page bulletin for our World Day of Prayer Program. Only the cover was in color, the rest was in black. I went thru 2 yellows and 1 magenta, and most of the black. After reading reviews, I understand the starter ink is a very small amount, but I paid 12.49 for a yellow at Walmart and then I had to run back again to get another yellow just to finish the last 2. I am more than upset that I couldn’t print in black and white if there was a color that was out. I followed the direction to use gray scale (which I could do successfully with my old printer). This one won’t budge. So the individual ink is a bit of a joke.

Avoid it!!! Also, Brother tech support is useless.

 on December 29, 2016
By Steve M.
1. The printing and/or copying output is too slow. We contacted Brother for support via chat and they told us to do the exact things we had just told them we did before contacting them, so that was pointless. The machine is just slow – apparently no way to change that.

Wonderful printer

 on March 2, 2016
By B. Johnson
Really great printer/scanner. I replaced an old Lexmark that was very problematic. Never purchased a Brother machine before, but I am pleased to say that it works great. The setup was very simple and instructions easy to follow. Comes with a disk that loads all necessary drivers. So far, I have been able to print without any problems whatsoever. The paper feeder works great and scanning is a breeze, I do not have a phone hook-up for faxing so I cannot comment on that feature.