Review of Epson XP-830 Wireless Color Photo Printer with Scanner, Copier & Fax (C11CE78201)

  • Top Rated Printers review-of-epson-xp-830-wireless-printer Review of Epson XP-830 Wireless Color Photo Printer with Scanner, Copier & Fax (C11CE78201)
    Epson XP-830 Wireless Color Photo Printer with Scanner, Copier & Fax (C11CE78201)
  • Top Rated Printers review-of-epson-xp-830-wireless-printer--2 Review of Epson XP-830 Wireless Color Photo Printer with Scanner, Copier & Fax (C11CE78201)
    Epson Expression Premium XP-830 | Unboxing the Small-in-One Printer
  • Top Rated Printers review-of-epson-xp-830-wireless-printer--3 Review of Epson XP-830 Wireless Color Photo Printer with Scanner, Copier & Fax (C11CE78201)
    Epson XP-830 Wireless Color Photo Printer with Sca Review
  • Top Rated Printers review-of-epson-xp-830-wireless-printer--4 Review of Epson XP-830 Wireless Color Photo Printer with Scanner, Copier & Fax (C11CE78201)
    Epson Expression Premium XP-830 | Take the Tour of the Small-in-One Printer
  • Top Rated Printers review-of-epson-xp-830-wireless-printer--5 Review of Epson XP-830 Wireless Color Photo Printer with Scanner, Copier & Fax (C11CE78201)
    Epson XP-830 Best Buy Wireless Color Photo Printer
  • Top Rated Printers review-of-epson-xp-830-wireless-printer--6 Review of Epson XP-830 Wireless Color Photo Printer with Scanner, Copier & Fax (C11CE78201)
    How to print ON DVD using Epson XP-830
  • Top Rated Printers review-of-epson-xp-830-wireless-printer--7 Review of Epson XP-830 Wireless Color Photo Printer with Scanner, Copier & Fax (C11CE78201)
    Epson XP 820 All In One Multifunction Wireless Color Printer Review
  • Top Rated Printers review-of-epson-xp-830-wireless-printer--8 Review of Epson XP-830 Wireless Color Photo Printer with Scanner, Copier & Fax (C11CE78201)
    Up coming video review of the epson xp-830
  • Top Rated Printers review-of-epson-xp-830-wireless-printer--9 Review of Epson XP-830 Wireless Color Photo Printer with Scanner, Copier & Fax (C11CE78201)
    Unboxing Printer (Epson XP 830) And Review
  • Top Rated Printers review-of-epson-xp-830-wireless-printer--10 Review of Epson XP-830 Wireless Color Photo Printer with Scanner, Copier & Fax (C11CE78201)
    Epson Expression Premium XP-820 | Take the Tour of the Small-in-One All-in-One Printer
«
»
Rating: 
Amazon Price: $199.99 $129.99 You save: $70.00 (35%). (as of August 16, 2018 6:34 am – Details). Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on the Amazon site at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.

The Expression Premium XP-830 cordless Small-in-One printer delivers remarkable photo quality and versatility, perfect for creative jobs. A 30-page Auto Document Feeder and vehicle 2-sided printing, copying, scanning and faxing saves time, while the auto-extend/retract output tray provides included convenience. Print vibrant, borderless pictures approximately 8" x 10", or on specialized paper1 and DVDs. Easily print from your tablet or smartphone2 – with or without a router – in your home or on the go. Get 4" x 6" pictures in as fast as 12 seconds3. The intuitive 4.3" touchscreen makes tasks basic. And, you can print Facebook images, coloring books and more with Epson's Creative Print App.

Customer Reviews

Printer stops when ink is low, and failed reads new Epson cartridges as empty. Avoid it.

 on February 17, 2017
By Mark in Palo Alto
Its a good printer, but the print cartridges are a nightmare. When the printer senses that the ink is getting low, the printer simply stops working until you change the print cartridge. It doesn’t matter how important your document is, or the fact that the prints are still clear, the printer simply doesn’t work until you change the cartridge. So, I bought a bunch of Epson cartridges (Epson, not third party) to have on hand. Then the real nightmare began. I put in a brand new Epson shrink wrapped cartridge, hit proceed, and the printer responds with a message that the brand new Epson cartridge is low on ink, and that I need to change the cartridge.

*** FIRMWARE DOWNGRADE INSTRUCTIONS *** Epson’s Unethical (& Unlawful?) Firmware Update

 on February 3, 2018
By AmazonCustomer
EDIT: March 10, 2018

My setup was flawless on a mac running OS X 10.10

 on November 19, 2016
By Nameless Faceless One
My setup was flawless on a mac running OS X 10.10. I went right to the website and downloaded the installer to insure I had the latest version of everything. It installed to CUPS without incident. All of the options worked – fax, scan to pdf via the ADF, print plain, print photo, print CD. My first complaint? It prints the fax reports using color. uh, no thanks, Epson! I have never had a printer install so fast and easy ever. Print quality is amazing. I am replacing my Brother all-in-one since they dropped printing to CD/DVD’s in their latest model and their print quality looks like something from the 80’s.

This is no joke… do not buy.

 on November 13, 2017
By E. Alderette
Why is it so hard to make a good all-in-one. I had a nightmare with another Epson printer (that supposedly had great reviews), so I bounced it from my life. Rather than bail on Epson altogether, I trusted more reviews that said THIS is the AIO printer you want.

Fantastic Printer/Scanner . . . Poor Business Strategy

 on January 24, 2016
By Sheila
Pros: This device is well designed and produces high quality results in terms of printing, scanning, and copying. I have not used the FAX feature, so I cannot comment on this area. Also, it was incredibly easy to set up. I absolutely love the performance and customization that the device itself has to offer and I applaud Epson’s engineering and manufacturing teams. This would have easily been a five-star review where I raved on and on about all aspects of the product, but . . .

Most ridiculous ink management features in the world

 on September 25, 2016
By RonO
OK, so the photo print quality is good, and plain paper color is decent. However, my printer is a brick any time ANY of the color cartridges run out, even if I just want to print in B&W. I ran out of Cyan and already have new cartridges on order but haven’t got them yet. I urgently need to print a document which I’m happy to print in B&W but my printer refuses to allow me to do so, even if I have plenty of Black BK & PBK ink. The interface on the Printer itself makes it look like I can continue to print B&W temporarily but then the Windows printer app just refuses to print the job. really frustrating and infuriating. Also, Epson keeps sending printer driver updates that completely locks out all Non-Epson ink cartridges, so you are forced to pay full price (or near full price) for original Epson cartridges that are very expensive (easily $80 for a full set every time). Numerous complaints on web blogs and discussion boards about this, but Epson doesn’t seem to care.

Must Feed Epson $$$ Cartridges Constantly

 on January 14, 2018
By Bob
Consumer Reports completely missing the boat on this recommendation. The printer constantly wants new ink cartridges at $$$ prices and will not print at all once the low level message comes on. To make the best of a bad buying decision, I purchased refilled Epson cartridges which worked great until last night when I allowed the printer to update its firmware. Now it will not recognize anything but a factory fresh Epson cartridge and there is no way to bypass the message or reverse the firmware. After I waste my time talking to Epson support to no avail, it will be my great pleasure to take a screw driver and hammer to eviscerate this self absorbed product for any usable scraps and tell every person I ever meet to never buy or in anyway support the Epson company.

Before you buy an Epson Printer please read this warning.

 on January 15, 2018
By K. Peterson
Before you buy an Epson Printer please read this warning.

Warning: Epson’s greedy tactics will lock you into expensive cartridges.

 on January 27, 2018
By mbd114
This printer/scanner worked quite well prior to the most recent firmware update in January 2018. As others have mentioned, the underhanded tactics of Epson in their most recent update has caused some aftermarket cartridges (and apparently even some Epson branded cartridges) to not be recognized by the printer. And before Epson posts their canned, INSULTING, reply that these printers are only designed to work with their cartridges, don’t bother. The printer worked flawlessly prior to this update, and it’s only through their greedy business practices that it no longer works with other cartridges. From what I’ve seen on other pages, this is becoming more and more common with Epson as they try to monopolize what we consumers can do with a device we fully own. I will be upgrading my firmware to a 3rd party release that has no chip restrictions and warning all of my family and friends away from Epon’s products. This is nothing but corporate greed.

Ok as a last resort, won’t print if even one ink cartridge runs out, software updater is annoying, won’t recognize ink cartridge

 on March 2, 2017
By MR
Revising down to one star. The software updater is annoying, and now with the latest firmware update it doesn’t recognize my ink cartridges. Definitely not buying another Epson.